IPL 2018: Match 56, CSK vs KXIP: Punjab on the brink of elimination against Chennai

The match will be played at Pune.

Must win match for KXIP. (IANS)

Kings XI Punjab have won just one out of their last seven games and the situation is such that they might get eliminated from the tournament if they lose their last game against Chennai. 

Thought amongst the favorites to win the favorites to win the title earlier in the campaign the season has changed drastically for Punjab. Ashwin who inspired others with his captaincy at the start of the tournament is now himself looking for some inspiration from his teammates. 

Chennai, on the other hand, have already qualified for the playoffs. However, their last defeat against Delhi has again opened up questions regarding their over aged side and their death bowling. One good thing about Chennai going into this game is that they have a captain who has been in numerous similar situations and has won his team the all-important matches. 

For Punjab amongst many disadvantages that they have, one advantage which they have is that they know exactly what they need to do in order to make it to the playoffs. In other words, they have their fate in their own hands now to script their future in the tournament. 

As far as team changes from both camps for this game is concerned, Chennai will look to go in with an unchanged side which is so typical of MS Dhoni going into the knockouts. 

Punjab has some rethinking to so over Yuvraj Singh. There could be a toss-up between Yuvraj, Manoj Tiwary and Karun Nair. Also, concerns over Mujeeb's fitness still remains and will only be known at the toss if he is playing tonight.  With backs against the wall, its now or never for Kings XI Punjab. 


Chennai Super Kings have won the toss and have opted to field

Playing XI 

Kings XI Punjab (Playing XI): Lokesh Rahul(w), Chris Gayle, Aaron Finch, David Miller, Karun Nair, Manoj Tiwary, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin(c), Andrew Tye, Mohit Sharma, Ankit Rajpoot

Chennai Super Kings (Playing XI): Faf du Plessis, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni(w/c), Sam Billings, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Lungi Ngidi

Chennai Super Kings:Harbhajan Singh, Shane Watson, Dwayne Bravo, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, Ambati Rayudu, Deepak Chahar, Sam Billings, Shardul Thakur, Lungi Ngidi


By Anshuman Roy - 20 May, 2018

    Share Via