IPL 2018: Match 39, SRH v RCB – SRH defend another small total to thanks to their bowlers; RCB beaten by 5 runs

Virat Kohli became the all time highest run getter in IPL during his innings of 39.

Mohd Siraj picked 3 wickets for 25 runs for RCB | IANS

The 29th match of the IPL 2018 saw hosts SRH welcoming RCB to the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Uppal in Hyderabad. SRH, who is the no.1 team in IPL 2018 with 7 wins from 9 matches. RCB, on the other hand, was at sixth position with 3 wins from 9 matches and required to win the match to stay alive in the tournament.

Royal Challengers Bangalore captain Virat Kohli won the toss and chose to field first. They made a couple of changes in leaving out Brendon McCullum and legspinner M Ashwin, and giving IPL debut to Moeen Ali and bringing back Manan Vohra. SRH went in the game unchanged.

Hales went back into the pavilion for 5, bowled by Southee and Dhawan followed him for 13, caught by Southee off Siraj. Manish Pandey too scored 5 runs before Chahal had him caught by Kohli. It was captain Kane William (56 off 39 balls with 5 fours and 2 sixes) and Shakib Al Hasan (35 off 32 balls) who took SRH to 146 in 20 overs.

Shakib Al Hasan scored 35 runs and picked 2/36 for SRH | IANS

Tim Southee (3/30) and Mohd Siraj (3/25) were the pick of RCB bowlers in this match.

The total was small in conventional T20 format, but not when you have a bowling attack as potent as one Sunrisers Hyderabad have. Sandeep Sharma bowled Manan Vohra for 8. Parthiv Patel looked good for his 20, which had four fours, but his innings was cut short by Shakib Al Hasan.

Virat Kohli scored 39 off 30 balls, including a lifeline by Kane Williamson. But his innings was ended by Shakib, as Kohli was caught by Yusuf Pathan. Rashid Khan bowled AB de Villiers for 5 and then Siddharth Kaul removed Moeen Ali for 10, caught behind by Saha. This left RCB 84/5.

Then came a big partnership between Colin de Grandhomme (33) and Mandeep Singh (21*), took RCB near the target. It all came down to 12 runs off the last over bowled by Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

SRH won the game by 5 runs, as De Grandhomme failed to hit the six to win the match. This was SRH's 8th win in their 10th match.

RCB, on the other hand, have been more or less knocked out from the race to playoffs, despite the rule of probability stating that they can still qualify.

SRH 146 (K WILLIAMSON 56; M SIRAJ 3/25) beat RCB 141/6 (V KOHLI 39; S AL HASAN 2/36) by 5 runs

By Jatin Sharma - 07 May, 2018

    Share Via