IPL 2018: Match 16 - KXIP v SRH – Chris Gayle’s 21st T20 century and KXIP bowling sinks SRH

R Ashwin became the first captain in IPL 2018 to win the match batting first after winning the toss.

Kane Williamson hit a sublime half-century for SRH | IANS

KXIP hosted SRH for their final match at the PCA Stadium in Mohali. SRH came into the match with three wins from three matches, while KXIP came with just one loss in 3 matches in IPL 2018.

Toss was crucial and R Ashwin won the toss and surprisingly chose to bat first. He is the first captain to do so in IPL 2018. SRH made a change to their team, bringing in Chris Jordan for Billy Stanlake; while KXIP went in unchanged.

The KXIP innings belonged to just one man and that was Chris Gayle, who slammed his 21st T20 century and 6th in IPL in just 58 balls. He finished 104* in 63 balls with 11 sixes and 1 four. He was supported by Karun Nair (31 in 21 balls) and Aaron Finch who hit 14 off 6 balls, after two consecutive golden ducks previously.

SRH bowlers had an off day as Rashid Khan registered his worst figures in T20 of 1/55 in 4 overs. Bhuvneshwar Kumar was at his usual best with 1/25 in four overs. Sran got one ball to bounce nastily enough to hurt Shikhar Dhawan on his elbow, which put him out of commission for the rest of the match.

Kane Williamson hit 54 in 41 balls and Yusuf hit 19, but SRH kept falling back in the required run rate department and Manish Pandey’s slow innings didn’t actually help them.

With more than 60 runs required from the last 4 overs and with 7 wickets in hand, SRH had to go after the total and lost wickets in the process. Manish Pandey remained not out on 57* and Shakib was not out on 24*.

Andrew Tye was brilliant for KXIP along with Barinder Sran | IANS

In the end, KXIP total proved to be too much for the SRH batting lineup, as KXIP bowling was brilliant from the start. Andrew Tye (2/23) and Barinder Sran (22 runs in 4 overs) was the pick of the bowlers for KXIP.

SRH suffered their first loss of the IPL 2018, while KXIP now has the record of 3 wins in 4 matches this season, so far.

KXIP 193/3 (C GAYLE 104*; B KUMAR 1/25) defeated SRH 178/4 (M PANDEY 57*; A TYE 2/23) by 15 runs


By Jatin Sharma - 19 Apr, 2018

    Share Via