IPL 2018: Match 16, KXIP vs SRH: Punjab look to halt Hyderabad's winning run

SRH are yet to lose in this IPL.

A match up between two astute captains.

Sunrisers Hyderabad has been on a good winning streak in the first three games. Their all-round play in all departments of the game has ensured that they stay at the top. 

Their bowling attack led by  Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been in terrific form limiting the opposition batsmen to under par totals. Siddharth Kaul in partnership with Bhuvi has handled the mantle of the SRH bowling very well. The duo along with Billy Stankalehas formed a formidable pace trio along with Shakib and Rashid Khan handling the spin department. 

In batting, SRH has depth and flexibility. Wriddhiman Saha has been used as per team's need and purpose with Yusuf Pathan and Manish Pandey and Shakib Al Hasan doing the finishing touches in each game so far. Plus they have Shikhar Dhawan and Kane Williamson as the pillar of their batting. 

Kings XI Punjab, on the other hand, will be happy to see Chris Gayle come into form in the very first match that he played for the franchise. He is a guaranteed selection for this match. However, ahead of the contest, the lackluster for of Finch and Yuvraj is making them think to tinker with the playing XI for tonight's contest. If it does eventually happen then Manoj Tiwary will replace Yuvraj in the lineup, while Finch might get an extended run. 

The bowling lineup led by Ashwin looks good. That they were able to stop MS Dhoni from winning it in the final over in their last game will be a huge boost for them. KXIP just might keep the same bowling attack as it worked for them in the last match. The likes of Mohit Sharma, Marcus Stoinis, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Andrew Tye and Barinder Sran gives a good look to the bowling attack and variety as well. 

As far as the playing conditions are concerned, in the last game, It was pretty much a 200-plus wicket although that total wasn't achieved. Another batting-friendly track is on the cards for the next game. A high of 31 degree Celsius is expected around the match start time.

Toss : Kings XI Punjab have won the toss and have opted to bat

Playing XI 

Kings XI Punjab : Lokesh Rahul(w), Chris Gayle, Mayank Agarwal, Yuvraj Singh, Aaron Finch, Karun Nair, Ravichandran Ashwin(c), Andrew Tye, Barinder Sran, Mohit Sharma, Mujeeb Ur Rahman

Sunrisers Hyderabad : Wriddhiman Saha(w), Shikhar Dhawan, Kane Williamson(c), Manish Pandey, Shakib Al Hasan, Deepak Hooda, Yusuf Pathan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Rashid Khan, Siddarth Kaul, Chris Jordan


By Anshuman Roy - 19 Apr, 2018

    Share Via