IPL 2018: Match 12- KXIP v CSK – Gayle, Rahul and Karun take KXIP to 197 against CSK

Imran Tahir played his 200th T20 match.

Imran Tahir picked 2 wickets in his 200th T20 match | IANS

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) hosted Chennai Super Kings (CSK) at Mohali in the 12th match of IPL 2018. KXIP had won one and lost one match; while CSK came into the match with two wins out of two matches.

MS Dhoni won the toss and elected to field first. CSK added M Vijay in the team in place of Suresh Raina and KXIP brought in Chris Gayle to the cheers of the team’s fans.

Chris Gayle came in and showed why he rules the T20 format, as he smashed 63 off 33 balls with 7 fours and 4 sixes, before Watson got him. KL Rahul hit 37 off 22 balls with 7 fours, before he hit a Harbhajan full toss to Dwayne Bravo.

KXIP had scored 100 in 8.4 overs, but Gayle and KL Rahul’s wicket halted the run rate quite a bit. Mayank Agarwal hit 30 off 19 balls, Yuvraj hit a quick 20 and Karun Nair hit 29 off 17 to take KXIP to 197/7.

Imran Tahir picked 2/34 and Shardul Thakur picked 2/33. The CSK bowling pegged KXIP back, despite them being 115 after 10 overs to stop them from getting close to 220.

KXIP 197/7 (C GAYLE 63; S THAKUR 2/33)


By Jatin Sharma - 15 Apr, 2018

    Share Via