IPL 2018: KXIP vs CSK, Match 12: Unbeaten CSK ready up for KXIP challenge

Ashwin represented CSK and RPS under MS Dhoni before IPL 2018.

It has all the makings of an exciting contest.

In the game, tonight in Mohali, former CSK teammates, MS Dhoni and Ravichandran Ashwin will stand against each other in a bid to outdo each other at the end of the game. 

Chennai Super Kings have had a great start on their comeback to the IPL. They have won both their games coming into this third encounter while for the Kings XI its been one in two matches. 

A home encounter for KXIP, they will certainly try to keep their nose in front in the contest. Chennai found a match winner in Sam Billings in the last game, while Mujeeb has been the secret weapon for Punjab so far. 

A side packed with a good all-round mix will take on a team of specialists from Punjab. While CSK has some injury concerns to think about ahead of the contest, Punjab will be banking on Rahul's form which has been phenomenal so far. Also, they will be banking on Karun Nair in the middle order. That Yuvraj has not flourished yet in the tournament keeps the Punjab thinktank thinking, however, this game against CSK might just be the tonicYuvraj needs to get into form. 

An evening game in Mohali means that due will play a big factor in the outcome of the contest. As far as team news from both camps are concerned, Punjab has more headaches than Chennai in this. There might be options between David Miller or Marcus Stoinis among the foreigners and between Yuvraj Singh and Manoj Tiwary among the locals. 

CSK just might play the same eleven which nourished them a win in the last game, however, there just might be a last minute change who knows. 

Toss: Chennai Super Kings have won the toss and have opted to field

Playing XI

KXIP: Chris Gayle, Karun Nair, KL Rahul, Ashwin Ravi, Barinder Sran, Mohit Sharma, Andrew Tye, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Mayank Agarwal, Yuvraj Singh, Aaron Finch

CSK: Shane Watson, Ambati Rayudu, Murali Vijay, Sam Billings, MS Dhoni, Dwayne Bravo, Deepak Chahar, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Imran Tahir, Shardul Thakur



By Anshuman Roy - 15 Apr, 2018

    Share Via