IPL 2018: BCCI plans to have 36 IPL Fan Park this season

The 11th edition of the IPL 2018 will get underway on Saturday (7 April) in Mumbai.

IPL Fan Park | PTI

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is all set to enter into the second decade on Saturday (7 April), and the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has decided to make its 'Fan Park' concept bigger and better this IPL 2018 season to reach out to more cricket lovers across the country.

The IPL Fan Parks started in 2015, giving the feel of being inside an IPL stadium without actually visiting there. These are built in specially selected open arenas and stadiums all over the country to give a stadium-like experience to the cricket fans of the cities, which do not host IPL matches.

In the last IPL season 2017, thousands of people have found their way into the parks and it is certain that the number of crowds will be huge again this season as well. However, entry to the IPL fan parks is based on a first come first serve policy, if fans want to make sure of their spot; then they have to get down there early.

As the  Indian T20 League embarks upon its 11th season, BCCI has planned to spread the VIVO IPL Fan Park 2018 across 19 states and covering 36 cities to reach out to fans.

Giant TV screens are set up at these venues, which broadcast all the LIVE action of the IPL 2018, which will surely give the stadium-like feel to the fans, who can attend it free of cost.

To add the exciting atmosphere, there will be also music and multiple stalls for merchandise, food, beverages and other activations by IPL’s official sponsors, as well as, there will be a lucky prize which will include exclusive IPL merchandise and a cool Smartphone from VIVO.

As per reports in Press Trust of India, Anant Datar, representative of BCCI for Fan Parks said, "In Gujarat, Rajkot, Surat, and Nadiad are three cities selected to have IPL Fan Parks. BCCI's main objective is to reach out to fans and cover maximum regions.”

He also confirmed that the first IPL Fan Park for the 2018 season will be held on April 7th & 8th in Raipur, Bhopal, Rajkot, and Tirunelveli. Last season, it has received "overwhelming" response from the fans and that’s why they decided the host fans parks in 36 cities this season.

Datar signed off by saying, “The number may go up even further next year. DNA Entertainment Networks Pvt Ltd has been officially contracted and authorized by the BCCI to plan, produce and execute IPL Fan Park this year in 36 cities across India on all weekends.”





By Rashmi Nanda - 07 Apr, 2018

    Share Via