IPL 2018: Clearing Yo-Yo endurance test obligatory to be a part of IPL teams

Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kings XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals have made it made mandatory for their players to be put through the grind.

Mumbai Indians have already conducted the Yo-Yo Test for its players (Pic. source: Twitter/ Mumbai Indians)

In the last one year or so, Yo-Yo endurance test has created a lot of buzz in India’s cricketing circle as players like Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Amit Mishra were snubbed from the national limited-overs squad because of their failure in this very test. Now with the fast-approaching 11th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL), some of the franchises are also making its players take the test.

As per the reports in Indian Express, four out of the eight franchises have already made their players go through the yo-yo test ahead of the cash-rich league. Mumbai Indians carried out their yo-yo tests at a ground in the outskirts of Mumbai, while franchises such as Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Kings XI Punjab and Rajasthan Royals have also made it obligatory for their players. On the other hand, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Kolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Daredevils and Chennai Super Kings have opted for conventional fitness tests for their players.

Reports further suggest that MI players were given 14.5 seconds to complete each level of the yo-yo test, starting from level 5.

“The teams now want their players to match up to the standards adopted by international teams around the world. India now has made the yo-yo test mandatory, so it’s natural to see some of the IPL teams follow suit,” a member of an IPL side was quoted as saying by Indian Express.

“It’s good to see where each player stands in terms of their fitness levels how much work the support staff needs to put in behind the scenes with them,” he further added.

As far as 'Yo-Yo' endurance test is concerned – it is an advanced version of the 'beep' test that was used by teams of earlier generations. The entire procedure is software-based where the results are recorded.

The 11th edition of IPL will kick off from April 7, with returning franchise Chennai Super Kings taking on the defending champions Mumbai Indians at the Wankhede stadium.

By Salman Anjum - 02 Apr, 2018

    Share Via