IPL 2019: IPL 12 final to take place on May 12, playoffs dates and venues released

IPL final venue has been shifted from Chennai.

SRH home ground Hyderabad will host the finals of the IPL 12 | IANSAs per news reports of IANS, the date of the finals of the Indian Premier League 2019 has been released. IPL 12 final will be played on May 12th at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad. The venue was changed from Chepauk, Chennai, as the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) wasn’t given permission to open stands I, J and K. Chennai will now host Qualifier 1 while Vizag will host the Eliminator and Qualifier 2.

Usually, the playoffs are hosted in the venues of the winners and runners-up, but the ongoing Lok Sabha elections and some logistical issues led to the BCCI bring in Vizag in the picture. Qualifier 1 will be played on May 7 in Chennai.

Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad was expected to host the eliminator and Qualifier 2, but thanks to elections being scheduled on May 6, 10 and 14, that will not be possible as the police will not be in a position to provide the required security and permissions.

Vizag was kept as back-up and will now host the Eliminator on May 8 and Qualifier 2 on May 10. The four women’s matches will be played in the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. Despite the first match, which will be played on May 6 and clashing with elections, Rajasthan Cricket Association (CA) has got the required clearance. The three women’s teams will be Trailblazers, Supernovas, and Velocity.

(IANS inputs)


By Jatin Sharma - 22 Apr, 2019

    Share Via