IND v WI 2018: India announces the 12-man squad for the first ODI at Guwahati

India will play five ODIs against West Indies starting October 21.

Rishabh Pant is poised to make his ODI debut in 1st ODI vs WI | AFPIndia and West Indies will commence the five-match ODI series with the first match on 21st October at the ACA Stadium in Barsapara in Guwahati.

India has already won the 2-match Test series 2-0 with emphatic victories in both Tests and now have chosen an almost full-strength team for the first two ODIs of the series. Only notable omissions have been Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah, who has been rested after a hectic Asia Cup 2018.

The 12-man squad features the regular top order of Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, and the returning Virat Kohli, who will lead the team, after missing the Asia Cup, which India won under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma. The no.4 spot has seemed to go to Ambati Rayudu as a result of his consistency at the spot in Asia Cup 2018.

MS Dhoni gets another chance to prove his mettle with the bat and as an added pressure on him, Rishabh Pant is seemed destined to make his ODI debut for India, as he is named above MS Dhoni in the list. Then comes the spin trio of Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Ravindra Jadeja, who will be expected to bamboozle the Windies batsmen.

The fast bowling duties seemed to fall on shoulders of veterans Mohammad Shami, who is returning to the Indian limited-overs squad after a year and Umesh Yadav, who has shown great talent and ability in recent matches to warrant a place in the team.

The 12th name in the list is of young Khaleel Ahmed, who impressed a lot with his pace and bounce in Asia Cup.

India 12-man squad for first ODI:

Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (C), Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (WK), Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Yuzvendra Chahal, Khaleel Ahme


By Jatin Sharma - 20 Oct, 2018

    Share Via