IND v WI 2018: India squad for first two ODIs vs WI announced by the BCCI

India to play a series of five ODIs against the WIndies.

Team India will play five ODIs against WI | Getty

As Team India prepares for the second Test against West Indies at Hyderabad, the preparations for the five-match ODI series have already begun as the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) selection committee has announced the India squad for the first two matches.

Last time these two teams met in the ODI series in India in 2014, the series was cut short due to players protest led by then captain Dwayne Bravo.

However, this time, the Windies team will miss Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, and Sunil Narine, as they were not included in the ODI squad that was recently announced by Cricket West Indies. Big hitter Chris Gayle has opted out of the India ODI series due to his Afghanistan Premier League 2018 commitments.

Kedar Jadhav and Hardik Pandya will miss the ODI series due to their respective injuries. Rishabh Pant came into the ODI squad to replace Kedar Jadhav.

Manish Pandey, Khaleel Ahmed, Ravindra Jadeja, and Ambati Rayudu were retained by the selectors in the squad thanks to their performance in the recently concluded Asia Cup 2018.

Also present in the team are Shardul Thakur and Rishabh Pant, while Mohammad Shami replaced Umesh Yadav, who had played in the Asia Cup 2018.   

Meanwhile, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah were rested due to playing in the Asia Cup 2018 in sweltering heat.

India squad for first two ODIs vs West Indies:

Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, MS Dhoni (wk), Rishabh Pant, R Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Khaleel Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, KL Rahul


By Jatin Sharma - 11 Oct, 2018

    Share Via