IND v WI 2018: Venue for second ODI shifted from Indore to Visakhapatnam

India’s series with West Indies commences with two Test matches on October 4.

Vizag will host the second ODI between India and West Indies | Getty

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Wednesday announced that Visakhapatnam’s Dr Y S Rajasekhara Reddy ACA–VDCA Cricket Stadium will replace Indore as venue for the second ODI between India and West Indies on October 24.

Initially, the tour itinerary had Indore's Holkar Stadium as venue for the second ODI of the five-match series. The rest of the itinerary of the series remains the same.

Although the BCCI has not clarified the reason behind this move, report suggests that the tussle with the Madhya Pradesh Cricket Association (MPCA) over complimentary passes has compelled the cricket board to take this decision.

As per the new BCCI constitution, 90 percent tickets of the total capacity of the stadium must be put on public sale, which effectively leaves 10 percent of complimentary tickets left with state units. In this case, MPCA refused to meet the demands of BCCI citing that Holkar stadium has the capacity to accommodate only 27,000 fans.

"The managing committee of MPCA has decided that it is not possible to organise the second ODI between India and West Indies in Indore if BCCI doesn't back down from its demand of complimentary tickets. We have intimated BCCI," MPCA joint secretary Milind Kanmadikar had said earlier.

"We cannot accept BCCI's demand for hospitality tickets. We have only 7000 seats in the pavilion (hospitality) gallery and going by 10 percent, we would be left with only 700 seats. Now if we give five percent of that, we are left with only 350 hospitality tickets.

"Even we have to cater demands of our members, various government agencies. We also have only 10 percent complimentaries in our state unit's constitution but from that we can give the amount (five percent from each gallery) BCCI wants," he further added.

India’s series with West Indies commences with two Test matches, before moving to the ODI and the ODI and Twenty20 formats. The first Test begins from October 4.

(With PTI inputs)


By Salman Anjum - 04 Oct, 2018

    Share Via