ENG v IND 2018: 3rd Test – England aim to win the series at Nottingham, while India plays to save face

England lead the 5-match series 2-0 with wins at Edgbaston and Lord's.

Ben Stokes is back in the England side after missing the Lord's Test | GettyThe third Test between England and India is slated to be played at the Trent Bridge, Nottingham. England with wins in Birmingham and Lord’s are already 2-0 up with an aim to win this Test and gain an unassailable lead over India. For India, which is the no.1 ranked Test team, it’s a matter of pride and saving face.

England has announced their playing XI and they dropped Sam Curran in favor of Ben Stokes, who was acquitted of all charges in the Bristol pub brawl. India, on the other hand, might take into consideration all the permutations and combinations before picking their playing XI. There is good news for them that captain Virat Kohli is 100% fit to play in this Test after his lower back gave him problems in the Lord’s Test.

Also India's fast bowler, Jasprit Bumrah has been deemed fit and is more or less likely to play his first Test on English soil. Indian team management received a lot of flak for their team selection at Lord’s. India’s top order is in tatters and middle order is nowhere to be seen except Virat Kohli.

For India, the availability of Jasprit Bumrah is a plus | GettyIndia is desperate to make a comeback into the series and they will have to play out of their skins on one of the fastest pitches in England to win a Test and keep themselves alive in the Test series.

A very interesting Test match between two good teams is on our hands and it remains to be seen which team has the passion and want to win. England wins this Test and pockets the series; while India winning the Test would mean they stay alive in the series and keep their dignity with them as the no.1 Test team.


England have won the toss and have opted to field

Playing XIs:

England : Alastair Cook, Keaton Jennings, Joe Root(c), Ollie Pope, Jonny Bairstow(w), Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Adil Rashid, Stuart Broad, James Anderson

India : Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant(w), Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah


By Jatin Sharma - 18 Aug, 2018

    Share Via