ENG v IND 2018: WATCH – Michael Vaughan predicts the eventual outcome of England-India Test series

The much-anticipated Test series between India and England is all set to kick start from Wednesday (August 1) at Edgbaston.

Vaughan picked England to win the five-Test series 3-1 | Getty

The much-anticipated Test series between India and England is all set to kick start from Wednesday (August 1) at Edgbaston. Under Virat Kohli’s captaincy, Team India have won 8 of their last 9 Test series and are currently the No.1 ranked side in the ICC Test rankings.

However, former England skipper Michael Vaughan reckons that English conditions will prove to be too much for the numero uno Test team. Predicting the outcome of the five-Test series, Vaughan picked England to win it by a convincing margin of 3-1.

Taking to Instagram, Vaughan posted a video and captioned it as: “Predictions for the Test series @mrgreenltd !! #3-1 #ENGvIND !”.

In the video, he said: “India fans aren’t going to like it but England are going to win 3-1. You don’t see England lose that many five-Test match series in English conditions.”

Michael Vaughan also predicted his leading wicket-taker and highest run-getter for both the teams in this series. While Vaughan and picked Stuart Broad and Joe Root to excel with the ball and bat for England, he chose Ishant Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane for India in their respective fields.

Here’s the video:


Predictions for the Test series @mrgreenltd !! #3-1 #ENGvIND !

A post shared by Michael vaughan (@michaelvaughan) on

India hasn’t had great success on the English soil as they have registered only 6 Test victories from 57 matches. However, under Virat Kohli’s captaincy they have shown the desire to shed the poor travellers’ tag. During the South Africa tour earlier this year, India had bounced back emphatically to register an emphatic 63-run victory in the third Test at Wanderers.

India had won the last Test series on English soil back in 2007.

England squad for first Test:

Alastair Cook, Keaton Jennings, Joe Root(c), Dawid Malan, Jonny Bairstow(w), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Adil Rashid, Stuart Broad, James Anderson, Moeen Ali, James Porter

India squad for first three Tests:

Murali Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Karun Nair, Dinesh Karthik(w), Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur


By Salman Anjum - 01 Aug, 2018

    Share Via