LPL 2020: Sudeep Tyagi arrives in Sri Lanka; quarantining In Hambantota

Tyagi is the latest Indian cricketer to be part of the tournament.

Sudeep Tyagi | TOI

Former Indian speedster Sudeep Tyagi has arrived in Sri Lanka to participate in the inaugural edition of Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2020, which will take place from 26 November to 16 December 2020 at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota.

Tyagi, who has recently announced his international retirement after representing India in four ODIs and a lone T20I international since 2009, arrived in Sri Lanka on Friday, 19th of November.

Read Also: LPL 2020: Ravi Bopara becomes latest big name to pull out of the tournament

Taking to Twitter on Friday, the cricketer announced his arrival in Sri Lanka for the tournament. He also shared a short clip of his quarantine in Hambantota as per COVID-19 rules. Tyagi tweeted, “Quarantined in Hambantota #LPLT20 #SriLanka #Quarantine,”

Have a look here:

Noteworthy, the cricketer featured in 23 matches in his T20 career including 14 games in the IPL for CSK and SRH, and picked up 16 wickets at an average of 30. He also played 41 first-class matches and picked up 109 wickets at an average of 31.99 while scalped 31 wickets in 23 List A matches.

Five franchises named Colombo Kings, Dambulla Viiking, Galle Gladiators, Jaffna Stallions, and Kandy Tuskers - will compete in 23 matches in the tournament.

The Colombo Kings will take on the Kandy Tuskers in the LPL 2020 opener at the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota on November 26th.


By Rashmi Nanda - 20 Nov, 2020

    Share Via