CPL 2020: Trinbago Knight Riders end perfect campaign with victory in the final over St Lucia Zouks 

Knight Riders lifted their fourth title in the history of Caribbean Premier League.

Trinbago Knight Riders became champions of CPL 2020 | GettyTrinbago Knight Riders' unbeaten run culminated in their fourth title in the history of the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) after they defeated St Lucia Zouks in the tournament final in Trinidad this Thursday (September 10). 

Knight Riders didn't drop a match through the course of the three-week event, one of the rarest of rare occasions in T20 cricket where a team went on to win the title without losing any of the games. 

WATCH- Rahkeem Cornwall of Zouks plucks a one-handed beauty of a catch

Bowling first after winning the toss, the Knight Riders skittled out the Zouks for 154 in 19.1 overs, with skipper Pollard himself leading the from the front, taking 4 wickets for 30 runs in his spell. 

Akeal Hosein (1/26), Ali Khan (2/25), Khary Pierre (0/20) and Fawad Ahmed (2/22) were also fantastic on the day. 

Zouks had Mark Deyal (29), Andre Fletcher (37), Roston Chase (22) and Najibullah Zadran (24) flourishing in patches. But no one played that big knock which would've propelled the side to a more fighting total. 

In the second half, continuing from where Pollard and the rest of the attack left their good work, opener Lendl Simmons (84*) and middle-order stalwart Darren Bravo (58*) batted magnificently well to take their team through. 

Even though Knight Riders lost Tion Webster (5) and Tim Seifert (4) very early, Simmons and Bravo didn't let the Zouks' bowlers build further inroads and batted as freely as one can expect under pressure. 

Scott Kuggeleijn (1/30), Roston Chase (1/13) got a wicket apiece while Mohammad Nabi (0/16) delivered yet another economical spell. But after the disappointing first half, the Zouks needed more from their bowlers. 

The CPL 2020 ended with the Trinbago Knight Riders lifting the coveted trophy. 

St Lucia Zouks 154/10 in 19.1 overs (Andre Fletcher 39, Mark Deyal 29; Kieron Pollard 4/30) lost to Trinbago Knight Riders 157/2 in 18.1 overs (Lendl Simmons 84*, Darren Bravo 58*; Roston Chase 1/13) by eight wickets. 


By Kashish Chadha - 11 Sep, 2020

    Share Via