BBL 09: Adelaide Strikers move to third spot after thrashing Brisbane Heat by 10 wickets

Strikers bundled out Heat for a paltry 100 and chased down the target in just 10.5 overs.

Liam O'Connor was awarded Player-of-the-Match for his brilliant spell | Getty

Adelaide Strikers hosted Brisbane Heat in the 40th match of Big Bash League (BBL) 09 at the Adelaide Oval on Friday (January 17).

Bowling first after losing the toss, Strikers bundled out Heat for a paltry 100 in 17 overs. Liam O'Connor (3/30), Michael Neser (2/14), Wes Agar (2/14) wreaked havoc with the ball while Rashid Khan (1/15), Peter Siddle (1/19) and Travis Head (1/4) chipped in with wicket apiece.

It was an embarrassing batting performance from Brisbane as Matt Renshaw (43 off 31 balls) and skipper Chris Lynn (26 off 24 balls) were the only two batsmen to touch the double-digit mark.

In reply, Stars overhauled the target in just 10.5 overs with openers Philip Salt (67 not out off 38 balls) and Jake Weatherald (33 not out off 27 balls) playing unbeaten knocks.

With this thumping victory, Strikers move to third spot while Heat slip to fourth position on the points table.

Brief Scores:

Brisbane Heat 100/10 in 17 overs (Matt Renshaw 43; Liam O'Connor 3/30) lost to Adelaide Strikers 104/0 in 10.5 overs (Philip Salt 67*; Josh Lalor 0/22) by 10 wickets.



By Salman Anjum - 17 Jan, 2020

    Share Via