Ranji Trophy 2019-20: Suryakumar Yadav to captain Mumbai team for upcoming season; squad announced

Ajinkya Rahane to feature for Mumbai in the tournament.

Yadav was in a red-hot form during this white-ball season | starsport

In-form batsman Suryakumar Yadav is back at the helm of Mumbai cricket after being named the captain of the Ranji Trophy team a week before the start of the upcoming prestigious domestic tournament on Monday, December 2.

The 29-year-old was in a red-hot form during the just concluded Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy, where Mumbai failed to cross the Super League stage challenge.

His last stint as Ranji captain was forgettable, as was removed from the leadership duty during the 2014-15 Ranji season mid-way and even dropped in the last edition of the tournament following Mumbai's and his own couple of poor performances.

Read Also: Tami Nadu appoints Vijay Shankar as captain for the Ranji Trophy 

However, Yadav has improved tremendously, as the Mumbai selection committee headed by Milind Rege on Monday decided to appoint him captain after being impressing with his leadership abilities, leading the side from the front with the bat in the white-ball season.

A senior Mumbai Cricket Association official, privy to the development, told PTI: “Going by the new constitution, they (ad-hoc selection committee) invited Surya and appointed him as the captain.”

Noteworthy, Yadav’s leadership skills will be tested in the coming season being one of the senior players of the team with Mumbai begin their Ranji Trophy campaign against Baroda in Vadodara from December 9.

Mumbai Squad for first match of Ranji 2019-20 season:
Suryakumar Yadav (captain), Aditya Tare, Ajinkya Rahane, Prithvi Shaw, Jay Bista, Shubham Ranjane, Akash Parkar, Sarfaraz Khan, Shams Mulani, Vinayak Bhoir, Shashank Attarde, Shardul Thakur, Tushar Deshpande, Dhawal Kulkarni and Eknath Kerkar

(With PTI Inputs)


By Rashmi Nanda - 03 Dec, 2019

    Share Via