Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019: Manish Pandey to lead Karnataka, KL Rahul named vice-captain

Karnataka has named a 15-man squad for the first three matches of the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Manish Pandey | Getty

India batsman Manish Pandey is set to lead a strong Karnataka team in the first three matches of the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy, starting September 24.

Pandey will have the talented KL Rahul as his deputy for the domestic 50-over tournament. Both of them were part of India’s squad in the just-concluded T20I series against South Africa and their presence will certainly bolster Karnataka's batting line-up, which also features a host of exciting youngsters such as KV Siddharth, Devdutt Padikkal, Sharath Srinivas and Abhishek Reddy.

Karnataka’s 15-man squad also boasts some quality all-rounders like Krishnappa Gowtham, Shreyas Gopal, Pavan Deshpande, and Pravin Dubey.

Read Also: Robin Uthappa set to captain Kerala in the forthcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy

The bowling attack will be led by seasoned pacer Abhimanyu Mithun. Apart from him, experienced names such as Prasidh Krishna, Ronit More and V Koushik will also give skipper Pandey a range of options to choose from on the bowling front.

Karnataka is placed in the Group A of Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019 along with Andhra, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Hyderabad, Jharkhand, Kerala, Mumbai and Saurashtra.

The Manish Pandey-led side will start their campaign against Hyderabad in Alur on September 24.

Karnataka's squad for the first three matches:

Manish Pandey (C), KL Rahul (VC), Devdutt Padikkal, KV Siddharth, Pravin Dubey, Pavan Deshpande, Abhishek Reddy, Krishnappa Gowtham, Jagadeesha Suchith, Abhimanyu Mithun, Prasidh Krishna, Ronit More, Sharath Srinivas (WK), Shreyas Gopal, V Koushik.


By Salman Anjum - 23 Sep, 2019

    Share Via