Ravichandran Ashwin to captain Tamil Nadu in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, Murali Vijay snubbed

Washington Sundar has been named Ashwin’s deputy in the squad.

Ravichandran Ashwin | Getty

India’s seasoned Test spinner Ravichandran Ashwin is all set to lead Tamil Nadu in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 tournament, slated to be held in Surat from February 21 to March 2.

While right-handed opener Murali Vijay was left out from the squad announced on Thursday, young all-rounder Washington Sundar is back in the team after missing action for a while following an injury during the limited-overs leg of the Australia tour. Sundar has been named Ashwin’s deputy in the squad.

Vijay Shankar, who is currently with the Indian team in New Zealand, has been selected in the 16-man squad.

The captain of Tamil Nadu’s Ranji Trophy side, B Indrajith, also features in the squad whereas his twin brother B Aparajith has been snubbed.

The squad also includes C Hari Nishaanth, who impressed one and all in the Tamil Nadu Premier League last year. M Ashwin joins Sai Kishore and skipper R Ashwin in the spin department.

Tamil Nadu begins its campaign against Rajasthan on February 21.

Squad: R Ashwin (captain), Washington Sundar (vice-captain), N Jagadeesan (wk), C Hari Nishaanth, M Shahrukh Khan, B Indrajith, R Vivek, T Natarajan, M Mohammed, J Kousik, R Sai Kishore, M Ashwin, N S Chaturved, Vijay Shankar, V Athisayaraj Davidson, Abhisek Tanwar.

(With PTI inputs)


By Salman Anjum - 08 Feb, 2019

    Share Via