Rahane-Kishan centuries leads India C to Deodhar Trophy 2018/19 win despite Iyer's 148

India B skipper Shreyas Iyer scored a brilliant 148.

India B skipper Shreyas Iyer scored a brilliant 148 | AFPIndia B and India C clashed in a high scoring final match of the Deodhar Trophy 2018/19 at the Feroz Shah Kotla stadium in Delhi.

India C captain Ajinkya Rahane won the toss and chose to bat first and led from the front with the bat as well. He and fellow opener Ishan Kishan added 210 runs in 30 overs for the team with both scoring big centuries.

Ishan scored 114 in 87 balls with 11 fours and 6 sixes, while skipper Rahane remained unbeaten on 144 off 156 balls with 9 fours and 3 sixes. Suryakumar Yadav provided final overs impetus with 39 off 18 balls with four sixes and 1 four.

For India B, Jaydev Unadkat picked 3/52, while Deepak Chahar (2/83) and Mayank Markande (2/70) were the other wicket-takers for the team.

Chasing such a big total needed a solid start, but that didn’t happen for India B as Mayank Agarwal went for 14 and Ruturaj Gaikwad made 60 in 56 balls. Hanuma Vihari and Manoj Tiwary fell for single-digit scores and that’s when skipper Shreyas Iyer took on the India C bowlers with a scintillating display of stroke play. He scored 148 off 114 balls with 8 sixes and 11 fours.

He found some support in Ankush Bains (37) and Deepak Chahar (21), but the asking rate had risen so much that wickets fell easily. In the end, India B folded for 323 runs to lose the match and the final by 29 runs.

Pappu Roy took 3/75, while Navdeep Saini, Rajneesh Gurbani, and Vijay Shankar took two wickets each.

Ajinkya Rahane and India C lifted the 2018/19 Deodhar Trophy.   

IND C 352/7 (A RAHANE 144*, I KISHAN 114; J UNADKAT 3/52) defeated IND B 323 (S IYER 148; P ROY 3/75) by 29 runs
India C wins the 2018/19 Deodhar Trophy


By Jatin Sharma - 27 Oct, 2018

    Share Via