Karanveer Kaushal hits the first double hundred in Indian List A cricket; breaks Ajinkya Rahane's record

Karanveer Kaushal is the second highest run-getter in the ongoing season.

Karanveer Kaushal | Uttarakhand Cricket Association

Uttarakhand’s Karanveer Kaushal entered his name into the history of Indian domestic cricket, as he became the first batsman to register a double century in the history of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

On Saturday (October 6), Kaushal achieved the feat when he smacked a 135-ball 202 at a strike-rate of 149.63 against Sikkim in a Plate group match of the ongoing List-A tournament.

In his record-breaking knock, the Uttarakhand batsman hit 18 boundaries and nine sixes dismissed for 202 in the 47th over to Sikkim’s Mandup Bhutia.

Karnavir achieved this feat in his just seventh list A match, while it was his first Vijay Hazare Trophy tournament, overtaking Ajinkya Rahane’s 187 for Mumbai against Maharashtra during the 2017-2018 season and commendably sit on the top of the chart.

Uttarakhand finished its innings at 366/2, thanks to Karnavir’s remarkable innings and opener Vineet Saxena’s brilliant century against Sikkim.

Noteworthy, it was Kaushal’s third century of the ongoing domestic season, having scored 101 against Puducherry followed by 118 against Mizoram. At the moment, he is the second highest run-getter in the ongoing season with 467 runs at an average of 77.83 and a strike rate of 122.25, in seven games. He is only behind Punit Bisht’s tally of 488 runs.

Highest individual scores in Vijay Hazare Trophy:

(Input: Sportstarlive)


By Rashmi Nanda - 06 Oct, 2018

    Share Via