Suresh Raina to lead Uttar Pradesh in the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy

Raina will be desperate to make a point to the selectors, having been dropped for Asia Cup in UAE.

Suresh Raina wants to earn back his place in the Indian team | Getty

Indian batting stalwart Suresh Raina has been named as Uttar Pradesh Captain for the upcoming edition of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. 

The Uttar Pradesh Cricket Association (UPCA) on Saturday, September 15, announced a 16-member squad, which also feature young and exciting fast bowling options like Shivam Mavi and Ankit Rajpoot.

While Ankit Rajpoot has another opportunity to shine, Mavi would like to continue the good work that he has done for India U-19s as well as Kolkata Knight Riders in the Indian Premier League. 

Specifically for Raina, the tournament is very important, as he strives to make a comeback into the Indian side after being dropped from the Asia Cup 2018 squad. Raina is desperate to play in next year's World Cup in England and it is a chance for him to prove that there's cricket left in him. 

UP opens up their account with a group B tussle against Saurashtra on September 19 and then plays Chattisgarh on September 21. The North Indian giants then face Odisha (September 23), Delhi (September 24), Hyderabad (September 28), Madhya Pradesh (September 30), Kerala (October 4) and Andhra Pradesh (October 6) in their next matches. The Knock-out phase of the important event begins October 14. 

Uttar Pradesh Squad:
Suresh Raina (captain), Akshdeep Nath, Shivam Chaudhary, Umang Sharma, Rinku Singh, Priyam Garg, Samarth Singh, Upendra Yadav, Abhishek Goswami, Saurabh Kumar, Shiva Singh, Ankit Rajpoot, Shivam Mavi, Amit Mishra, Yash Dalal, Mohsin Khan

Coach: Mansur Ali
Batting coach: Parvinder Singh

(Inputs from SPORTSTAR Live)


By Kashish Chadha - 16 Sep, 2018

    Share Via