CWC 2019: BCCI announces Team India squad for the upcoming ICC World Cup

India will open their WC 2019 campaign against South Africa on June 6.

Virat Kohli will lead India in the World Cup for the first time | Getty

Finally, the BCCI has unveiled the 15-member Indian squad to go to England and Wales for the ICC World Cup 2019. Team India is ranked no.2 on the ICC ODI team rankings and is heavy favorites to win the tournament along with the hosts England.

Team India have already won the World Cup twice- in 1983 under Kapil Dev’s captaincy and in 2011 under the captaincy of MS Dhoni. This time the Indian team will start their campaign under the leadership of Virat Kohli with Rohit Sharma being his deputy.

The BCCI has mostly kept the Indian squad similar to the one that has been playing for India in the past year. Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan have been included as first choice openers with Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav being the middle order of the Indian team.  

In a certainly arguable selection, Dinesh Karthik beat out Rishabh Pant for the race of backup wicketkeeper. The Tamil Nadu allrounder Vijay Shankar was also selected in the Indian squad for World Cup and will mostly be the choice for the batsman at no.4 position. 

Ravindra Jadeja and Hardik Pandya have been chosen as all-rounders while Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal will be the first-choice spin options for the Indian team on June’s England pitches.

As for the fast bowlers go, Mohammad Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Jasprit Bumrah have been chosen as the premium choices for the mega ICC event.

Team India squad for the ICC World Cup 2019:

Virat Kohli (C), MS Dhoni (WK), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik (WK), Vijay Shankar, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Jasprit Bumrah


By Jatin Sharma - 15 Apr, 2019

    Share Via