CWC 2019: Harsha Bhogle picks his Team India squad for the 2019 World Cup

Team India is being touted as one of the favorites to win the 2019 World Cup.

Harsha Bhogle picked his Indian squad for the 2019 WC

Team India has been in top form in the limited overs format for the last year or so and has been on its way to being counted as one of the favorites to win the 2019 ICC World Cup in England and Wales.

Team India has beaten the likes of South Africa, Australia, and New Zealand in ODI series away from home and will face Australia at home in February- March in what will be their last ODI series before the start of the IPL and the 2019 World Cup.

Many speculations have been made about the Indian squad for the mega ICC event and with the regulars almost confirming their spots in the squad, there are many candidates for some spots like the third spinner, two fast bowlers and the no.4 spot batsman.  

Veteran cricket journalist and commentator Harsha Bhogle is one of the most notable and clever cricket experts out there. In association with, Harsha Bhogle came up with the selection of his World Cup squad for team India.

Bhogle has chosen Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan as his openers with Virat Kohli at no.3 spot. Ambati Rayudu is his choice at no.4 spot in the batting order, with Kedar Jadhav and Dinesh Karthik being the other options. Karthik will also be the backup keeper for MS Dhoni, with Hardik Pandya being the fast bowling all-rounder.

The surprise selection in the squad was that of KL Rahul, who has been woefully out of form, but Harsha Bhogle has chosen him to be the backup opener in the squad.

Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal are the two main spinners in the squad with Ravindra Jadeja being the backup spinner. Interestingly, Harsha Bhogle has chosen just three fast bowlers in Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami in his squad.  

Here is Harsha Bhogle’s 2019 WC India squad:

Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (C), KL Rahul, Kedar Jadhav, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni (WK), Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami


By Jatin Sharma - 31 Jan, 2019

    Share Via