Asia Cup 2018: Commentators finalized for the tournament; big names missing from the list

Asia Cup 2018 begins on September 15.

Manjrekar and Bhogle miss out from Asia Cup list; though Gavaskar has been includedThe 2018 edition of the Asia Cup tournament will begin from September 15 and will see Sri Lanka take on Bangladesh in the first match.

The tournament consists of six teams –defending champions India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and qualifiers Hong Kong. India, Pakistan and Hong Kong are in one group and Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan in the other.

Defending champions will play their first match on September 18 against Hong Kong and the next day will clash against arch-rivals Pakistan.

The list of commentators for the tournament has been finalized with commentators from the majority of participating countries being included along with two neutral voices.

Sunil Gavaskar, L Sivaramakrishnan and VVS Laxman (Zaheer Khan if VVS can’t make it) will be there from India with Rameez Raja and Aamer Sohail representing the Pakistan point of view. Dean Jones, who had coached Afghanistan, will be the rising team’s voice while Kumar Sangakkara and Russel Arnold will be from Sri Lanka.

From Bangladesh, Athar Ali Khan will be commentating and Brett Lee and Kevin Pietersen are the two neutral voices in the commentary box.

However, there are two big names missing from the list- Sanjay Manjrekar and Harsha Bhogle- who are currently in England for the Test series.

(inputs from Mumbai Mirror)


By Jatin Sharma - 08 Sep, 2018

    Share Via