Asia Cup 2018: BCCI announces Team India squad for the tournament

India will play its first match of Asia Cup on September 18.

India are the defending champions of Asia CupThe Asia Cup 2018 will be the 14th edition of the tournament and will be hosted by the United Arab Emirates. The matches will be played at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium in Dubai and Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi.

The tournament will feature India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan and one qualifier from the Asia Cup qualifiers currently underway. The 2018 edition has reverted back to the 50-over per side format and Team India are the defending champions having won the 2016 edition.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) selection committee has announced the India squad for the tournament.

In a big reveal, Virat Kohli has been rested from the tournament and the team will be led by Rohit Sharma and his deputy will be Shikhar Dhawan.

The squad includes Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, and Khaleel Ahmed being rewarded for their performances in the recent quadrangular series. The squad also sees the return of Kedar Jadhav in the Indian team after his injury in IPL 2018.

Here is the Team India squad for Asia Cup 2018:

Rohit Sharma (C), Shikhar Dhawan (VC), KL Rahul, Ambati Rayudu, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Y Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Khaleel Ahmed


By Jatin Sharma - 01 Sep, 2018

    Share Via