Ashes 2017 -18 Steve Smith awarded with Compton-Miller Medal

Steve Smith was adjudged the Man of the Series.

Steve Smith has amassed 687 runs at an average of 137.40 in the Ashes | Getty Images

Steve Smith –who led Australia from the front to Ashes triumph, won the Compton-Miller Medal as the Player of the Series for his fantastic show with the bat throughout the 2017-18 Magellan Ashes series.

On Sunday, hosts Australia completed a 4-0 win in the five-Test Ashes series by winning Sydney Test by an innings and 123-runs against England –with Smith rewarded as the  Player of the Series, while paceman Pat Cummins was the leading wicket-taker with 23 in the prestigious series.

It was an incredible series for the 28-year-old Smith both as batsman and captain, as the right-hander amassed 687 runs at an average of 137.40 in the Ashes at home. Smith has scored three centuries, but his magnificent double century (239) at the WACA was fantastic which led his side to Ashes triumph.

Throughout the Ashes campaign, Smith was the most focussed player from both sides due to his master class show with the willow, and once again he proves he is the best batsman in the world at the moment.

Meanwhile, it was a remarkable Ashes victory for Smith as Australia skipper, as he joined Ricky Ponting as player-of-the-series in an Ashes-winning campaign by winning the Compton-Miller Medal.

The award is named after two legendary cricketers of Ashes –England batsman Denis Compton and Australia all-rounder Keith Miller, whose son Dennis presented the medal to Smith.

Compton-Miller Medal winners:

2005 - Andrew Flintoff (England)

2006-07 - Ricky Ponting (Australia)

2009 - Andrew Strauss (England)

2010-11 - Alastair Cook (England)

2013 - Ian Bell (England)

2013-14 - Mitchell Johnson (Australia)

2015 - Joe Root (England)

2017-18 - Steve Smith (Australia)







By Rashmi Nanda - 08 Jan, 2018

    Share Via