AUS v IND 2018-19: Australia announces playing XI for the first Test at Adelaide

Australia had previously beaten India 0-2 in 2014-15 series.

Tim Paine and Justin Langer will have a tough task facing a full strength Indian side | Getty The India- Australia four-match Test series, also known as the Border-Gavaskar Trophy will commence with the first Test at the Adelaide Oval.

Australia will try to redeem themselves after the infamous ball-tampering saga that has seen three of their players getting banned for various time periods, including one-year bans on Steve Smith and David Warner. Now led by Tim Paine, Australia is trying to get back to winning ways.

Australia is in their own backyard and has announced their playing XI for the first Test at the Adelaide Oval against India. They have given Marcus Harris a debut and he is slated to open with Aaron Finch and Usman Khawaja coming in at no.3.

Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head and skipper Tim Paine form the middle order of the Australian team. The famed Australian bowling attack consists of fast bowlers Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood, with Nathan Lyon being the lone spinner in the Australian playing XI.

Australia’s playing XI for the 1st Test:

Marcus Harris, Aaron Finch, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Travis Head, Tim Paine (c), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood


By Jatin Sharma - 05 Dec, 2018

    Share Via