AUS v IND 2018-19: Gautam Gambhir slams selectors for not giving players enough chances

Gambhir asked selectors to stop playing musical chair with players as it damages their confidence.

Gautam Gambhir | GETTY

Indian cricketer Gautam Gambhir is not happy with selectors for ignoring youngster Mayank Agarwal. He feels it is unfair to sideline Mayank without giving any opportunity to him against West Indies in Tests recently.

Gambhir, who has a very straightforward attitude, asked BCCI selectors to not play musical chair with players as it affects their confidence.

The statement from the veteran cricketer came during the second T20I between India and Australia which was washed out. 

Gambhir has taken a new role of a commentator and was seen commenting on air about Mayank. The 27-year-old was added in India A side against New Zealand A.

"The most unfortunate one is someone like Mayank Agarwal who had scored so many runs in domestic cricket. If you had selected him for the West Indies series and then without given him the opportunity you drop him for the Australia tour. Then you are telling everyone including him that you are only good in subcontinent conditions and not for Australian conditions. I think that is very unfortunate."

About Murali Vijay, he added, "Also, if you wanted to take Murali Vijay in the Australia series, then he shouldn't have been dropped from England series. And if you had dropped him from the playing XI, Vijay should have been taken for the West Indies series. You did not keep him in the West Indies series and had Mayank Agarwal instead. Now you have brought back Murali Vijay and sent Mayank with India A. This is very unfortunate for a young player. If you are a good player you are good in every condition. So I feel selectors should bring about a clarity and stop playing musical chair with players."

India's Full Squad for Tests against Australia:
Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Murali Vijay, KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant (wk), Parthiv Patel (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvaneswar Kumar, Mohammad Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav 


By Sihyeu Singh - 27 Nov, 2018

    Share Via