AUS v IND 2020-21: Australia drop Joe Burns from the Test squad, Warner, Pucovski return for 3rd Test

Burns’ omission came in the wake of his failures in the first two Tests.

David Warner and Will Pucovski are likely to open in the third Test | GettyDavid Warner and Will Pucovski have been named in Australia’s updated Test squad ahead of the third Test against India while Joe Burns has been axed.

Read Also: SCG to host New Year Test between Australia and India; Sydney gets green light from CA

Burns’ omission came in the wake of his failures in the first two Tests. The right-hander registered scores of 8, 51*, 0 and 4 in four innings at Adelaide and Melbourne.

According to a report, Warner is likely to return to the top of the order in Sydney as he continues his recovery from a groin injury.

On the other hand, Pucovski was in line to make his Test debut in the series opener before he suffered a concussion in the second warm-up game and got ruled out of the first two games.

"David Warner, Will Pucovski and Sean Abbott will rejoin the squad in Melbourne tomorrow evening in preparation for the Sydney Test,” national selector Trevor Hohns quoted as saying by

"David has made strong progress in his recovery from injury and will be given every chance to play in Sydney with another seven days until the match. Sean has fully recovered from a calf strain and is also available for selection.

"Will is in the final stages of the graduated return to play protocols and has been symptom free for some time. He will be fit to play in Sydney subject to completing the return to play protocols and an independent assessment,” he added.

"Joe Burns has been released from the squad and will return to the Brisbane Heat. Unfortunately, Joe's returns haven't been what he or the selectors would like or what we consider he is capable of," he continued.

The third Test will be played at the Sydney Cricket Ground from January 7 to 11.

Australia Test squad:

Tim Paine (c), Sean Abbott, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Will Pucovski, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner


By Salman Anjum - 30 Dec, 2020

    Share Via